The Mother Has Arrived – Kombucha Home Brewing

Standard

A preview of what’s coming up on the blog. I’ve been doing a lot of researching on kombucha, fermented tea that tastes of heaven. Someone local to me is giving me a scoby (strange mushroom like thing that starts the fermentation process). At $4 a bottle, I feel guilty for buying it, but absolutely love the taste! Here’s hoping my DIY kombucha is as tasty!

theaipway

If you’ve never had Kombucha before, it is a fermented pro-biotic tea with a ton of healthy benefits. It is full of antioxidants, vitamins and acids that contribute to a healthy digestive tract. With an autoimmune disease a healthy gut is a happy body so Kombucha has become an important part of my diet. It’s incredibly good for you and because of it’s increasing popularity you find it at just about any grocery store. I chose to start brewing my own because I drink enough of it that it is more cost effective this way. Plus, it’s a fun project!

I got the scoby aka mother in the mail today from The Kombucha Shop and got to brewing right away. The scoby is a Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast that allows the tea to ferment into the fizzy and tangy drink that is Kombucha.

The ‘mother’:

20150311_183223

The process was…

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

