Self Sustainability

Standard

After a couple hours spent in the my garden I was relaxing on the patio reading green-themed blogs. I found myself down a rabbit hole reading about stockpiling food. The blogger was living off the grid and had purchased this product :Emergency Survival Food Supply 275 Meal Pack

275 servings of dehydrated food. The user reviews on this product are very entertaining.  It sounds like there are a lot of people who are stockpiling food and they are very worried about the future.

 

It got me thinking about what I would do if I had to feed myself for a long stretch of time.  In my mind I’m in an episode of The Walking Dead.  I’ve fought my way into an abandoned grocery store and I head straight for the produce section and all the produce has long since rotted away.  I go to the canned foods section, but I don’t like canned veggies and the Alphagetti isn’t gluten-free.  Would I have to give up my vegetarian/vegan ways to survive?

 

Aside from dehydrating and freezing fruit, I’m a total failure in the food stockpiling department.  I cannot cook beans from dried to save my life.  I am a vegan failure! Looking around my garden I’ve got strawberries, raspberries, peas, zucchini, swiss chard, kale and lettuce growing in small quantities.  I could do a bit of scavenging, but I’d be a goner by the end of the week!

 

Am I alone in this?  Unless you live on property, we are so dependent on the food producers.  Although in theory it’s a green idea to be self sustaining, is it practical? Is it eco-friendly to hoard 20 years worth of food just in case?

Leave a Reply

